MD lied about vaccination/autism link

This man has a body count and should be in prison. I wonder if Oprah will bring it up the next time she has Jenny McCarthy or any of the other anti-vaccine crowd on her show?  Will this story ever see the light of day in the U.S.?

THE doctor who sparked the scare over the safety of the MMR vaccine for children changed and misreported results in his research, creating the appearance of a possible link with autism, a Sunday Times investigation has found.

Confidential medical documents and interviews with witnesses have established that Andrew Wakefield manipulated patients’ data, which triggered fears that the MMR triple vaccine to protect against measles, mumps and rubella was linked to the condition.

[...]

Despite involving just a dozen children, the 1998 paper’s impact was extraordinary. After its publication, rates of inoculation fell from 92% to below 80%. Populations acquire “herd immunity” from measles when more than 95% of people have been vaccinated.

Last week official figures showed that 1,348 confirmed cases of measles in England and Wales were reported last year, compared with 56 in 1998. Two children have died of the disease.

One lie. One. Big. Lie. And those desperate to know “why” their child was autistic, and those who were willing to believe that anything Big Pharma and Big Medicine does is, by definition, evil and designed to kill us all, ate it up. It did not matter how many studies denied the connection between vaccinations and autism, no matter how many doctors, researchers, and those who would actually have the expertise to determine the truth spoke up and denied the link. It did not matter that the ingredient “suspected” of causing autism hasn’t been used in vaccinations in years with no corresponding decline in autism rates.  Are you listening, Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.?

It didn’t matter. One lie and a conspiracy-minded, uneducated, frightened portion of the population ate it up.  And now, a disease that the World Health Organization had hoped to eradicate by next year, is springing up again, including the United States which had declared measles eradicated in the U.S. in 2000.. And yes, there is a body count.

Measles is a highly contagious disease characterised by a high fever and a rash. It can be passed on without direct contact before the rash appears. About one in every 15 children has complications that can include meningitis, pneumonia, fits, encephalitis (swelling of the brain), blindness and brain damage.

Furthermore, as these unvaccinated children grow into adulthood, we just may see a return to something akin to the rubella epidemic of 1964-65 was responsible for 20,000 cases of Congenital Rubella Syndrome in the U.S., and more world-wide, and accounted for a flood of deaf and deaf/blind babies being born.*

Wow. What progress.

 

* I have a cousin who was born about this time, and she is profoundly deaf. I’ve never put two and two together, but I had measles during this time and wonder if my aunt had it as well.

5 thoughts on “MD lied about vaccination/autism link

  1. Oh man, you just hit on something that drives me crazy and that is the people who refuse to have their kids vaccinated. I have a neighbor who lives behind me and has a 6 month old boy. Last summer she told me that she wasn’t going to have her child vaccinated for the reasons you stated above, she watches Oprah and is convinced that any kid who gets vaccinated will get autism.

    The first thing I asked her was, “And what are you going to do when Dom is ready for Kindergarten? You do know that the schools won’t take them without their vaccinations being up to date, don’t you?” She just looked at me with a blank look on her face. I also reminded her that she can’t put him in any pre-school or daycare without vaccinations. Again…blank stare.

    There are a number of people in my area who home school their kids because they refuse to get them vaccinated. But in this girl’s case, she only has a high school education and her husband, I just found out, doesn’t even have a high school diploma (he’s a house painter who started that as a summer job and found it so lucrative that he dropped out of school).

    I’ve had four kids, all of them have been vaccinated. My youngest son is mildly autistic (PDS) , but it had NOTHING to do with the vaccinations….I know because I saw that he showed signs of this immediately, before he received his first vaccination (would not make eye contact with anyone, and other symptoms). He has ADHD and Asperger syndrome.

    I used to have my own daycare business and I would not take any children who have not been vaccinated. I’m not sure if schools in other States have the same laws as Illinois, however.

  2. Please do not blame the average (as opposed to attention-seeking Hollywood type) parent of an autistic child. It was often not we who want to know “why” our child was autistic, but others who want to know “what” we have done wrong that they can avoid. Since “refrigerator Mom” has been debunked, the theorizers have had to get creative — and some of that creativity has been destructive, not least to parents like me whose child had all of his vaccine shots, per the doctor-specified schedule, in those first two years. When the vaccine controversy was at its hottest, I spent some time feeling unnecessary guilt about having gotten my little boy those shots. Please know that parents of disabled children are often made to feel like failures for the fact of their children’s existence and that this can make them vulnerable to all sorts of scamsters.

  3. I did not proofread my second sentence very well. Please correct it to: “It is often not we who want to know “why” our child is autistic, but others who want to know “what” we have done wrong that they can avoid.”

  4. kathy, in no way do I blame the average parent at all, least of all you and Howard. If my words implied that, please forgive me.

    I blame people like the MD above who so obviously had an agenda and used it to wreak just the kind of mental anguish you have lived. It disgusts me and I wish there was something I could do to stop them. Speaking out is the only thing I can do. Public stoning is still, at this point, illegal, but a little time in the stocks with some rotten fruit for the rabble to pelt the charlatan with is a nice fantasy, though.

  5. Pingback: I’m gonna say it « Blue Lyon

Comments are closed.